Stingrays release “protected” list

The Stingrays released their “protected list” today.

As I’ve said many times in the past, don’t get too caught up with this list. It really doesn’t mean a whole lot. Take for instance that Rayn Zapolski is on it, but he’s signed with a team in Europe next season.

Also, Sean Dolan and Johann Kroll are on the list. Sean played in Charlotte last season and Johann is retired playing at the Ice Palace.

The Stingrays’ protected list of players include: Goaltenders Ryan Zapolski and Jeff Jakaitis, defensemen Ryan Grimshaw, Scooter Vaughan, Luka Vidmar, Jake Areshenko, Damon Kipp, Cameron Brodie, Derek Foam, Ryan Lowery, Ryan Turek, Edwin Shea, Kevin Quick, Ryan McGinnis and Johann Kroll and forwards Brett Olson, Alex MacLeod, Andrew Cherniwchan, Eric Alexander, Andrew Sackrison, Robby Dee, Patrick Gaul, Jay Silvia, Peter Boyd, Chris Langkow, Mike Hamilton, Tyler McNeely, Hunter Bishop, Billy Ryan, Sean Dolan and Michael Dorr.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2012-13 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2012-13, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2012-13 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.
The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2012-13.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>