Stingrays’ Joey Zakrzewski named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

There are times when I’m not sure you Stingray fans realize how lucky you have been over the years.

Not just the three Kelly Cup titles, but the people that have, in general, worked in the Stingrays’ front office. And that doesn’t include the ownership group or the coaches and players.

I’ve had the true good fortune to work with some outstanding broadcasters. All the Stingrays play-by-play radio voices have been outstanding broadcasters, even Mike Kelly, who was only here a year.

You can now add Joey Zakrzewski to that list, as he was named the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year. Joey Z as he is affectionately known is the third Stingrays play-by-play voice to receive the ECHL honor, joining Darren Abbott and Josh Heller.

Joey Z has really blossomed before our eyes over the last couple of years. He was a young, inexperienced broadcaster when he first arrived in the Holy City. Now, he’s a grizzled veteran and someone I’m proud to call my friend. The only problem now, is that, some AHL team will probably scooped him up and he’ll be on his way. That’ll be a sad day for Stingrays Nation.

If you get a second, send a shout out to Joey Z to congratulate him, I know he’d appreciate it.

Here’s the ECHL release:

The ECHL on Tuesday announced that Joseph Zakrzewski of the South Carolina Stingrays is the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Josh Bogorad of the Alaska Aces, Alex Reed of the Florida Everblades, Bob Chase of the Fort Wayne Komets and Bob Mills of the Orlando Solar Bears.

“It is a tremendous honor,” said Zakrzewski. “I owe this award to all the colleagues I have had the pleasure working (especially, my close personal friend Andrew Miller) with over the past four seasons, my family and the fans who tune in to Stingrays hockey on a nightly basis. They make the job fun and exciting and I could not do this without their support.”

(OK, so I added the quote about me.)
Zakrzewski completed his fourth season as the “Voice of the Stingrays” in 2012-13 after spending two seasons as the Broadcasting Assistant for the Houston Aeros of the American Hockey League and Broadcaster of the Battle Creek Bombers baseball team of the Northwoods League. He handles all media and public relations activities for the team, creates and manages content and graphics on the Stingrays’ website and new media systems and serves as the team’s play-by-play broadcaster. The Spring, Texas native graduated from Sam Houston State University in 2009 with a degree in Mass Communications specializing in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in English. In addition to working with the Aeros and Bombers, Zakrzewski worked for two years with Sam Houston State’s local radio and television stations and was also a four-year member of the school’s hockey team where he helped lead the Bearkats to three consecutive SCHL championship appearances.

Will have something later today on the “qualifying offers” the Stingrays made on Monday. I was still on vacation


2 thoughts on “Stingrays’ Joey Zakrzewski named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

  1. “A job is a job”…how often we hear these words….. but we never hear them from Joey Z. I agree with Andrew that we don’t realize how lucky we have been with our past and present broadcasters .To be sure, Joey is right up there as a broadcaster with Darren, Randy, Josh, and Mike. But what sets him apart is his love of hockey, Charleston, and his fellow staff members and fans. Joey lives his job 24 hours a day and always is available to Charleston’s hockey nation with his positive attitude, ever present smile, and friendly disposition. Thank you, Joseph! You deserve every award and recognition that you have received and will continue to receive in the years to come.

  2. agree with above. As good an announcer, as passionate as he is about hockey, he’s an even better person.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>